About Us

IFTPS  is an International Organization whose Mission is to:

provide leadership and education for thermal processing specialists to enhance awareness and ensure public health safety by using the knowledge of a diverse membership through communication, networking, research and establishing best practices.

Our objectives are to:

  1. assure continuity of core knowledge and expertise in thermal processing
  2. establish and guide industry best practices and applications
  3. provide global outreach through training and education
  4. promote and encourage an active and diverse membership
  5. support the advancement of research in the science of thermal processing
  6. acknowledge contributions and expertise in the field of thermal processing

History Of The Institute

The Institute For Thermal Processing Specialists is a 501 (c) (6) not-for-profit corporation of the State of Virginia organized to serve the needs of those working in thermal processing. The Institute was conceived in 1981 by a group of individuals working in the field of thermal processing to advance professionalism through educational presentations and the development of uniform standards of procedure. Based on the interest expressed at an inaugural conference held in October of 1981, the Institute was formed and received its Certificate of Incorporation on July 1, 1982. The Institute held its first annual meeting on November 10, 1982 and now has more than 350 members from 27 countries.

IFTPS continues to operate exclusively for the purpose of fostering education and training for those persons interested in procedures, techniques and regulatory requirements for thermal processing of all types of food or other materials and for the communications of information between its members and other organizations.

This is accomplished through conferences, workshops and internet communication. Further, the Institute promotes study and research in the field of thermal processing and its impact on the public and the industry. It is also dedicated to the responsibilities of persons concerned with or performing activities in thermal processing.

Board Of Directors

Mark Deniston, IEH

Vice Chair:
Scott Cabes, TechniCAL

Executive Director:
Dr. Ian Britt

Board Members:

Karen Brown, JBT FoodTech

Susan Featherstone, Safe-Food Consulting

Dr. Tim Haley

Dr. Abdullatif Tay, Pepsico

Dr. Scott Whiteside, Clemson University

Richard Kimball, Consultant

Terms of Office

March, 2021 – February, 2022

Tim Haley

February, 2019 – February, 2022

Mark Deniston
Abdullatif Tay

February, 2020 – February, 2023
Karen Brown
Scott Cabes
Scott Whiteside

February, 2021 – February, 2024
Susan Featherstone